book-club's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Allison, when she should be studying for midterms

I borrowed this book from a friend of mine somewhere around Christmas (or maybe it was a few months after Christmas? I honestly cannot remember now). Anyway, I found the beginning of the book to be very interesting and very humorous.

My favourite part of the book was whenever Crowly or Aziraphale were a major part in the scene. I was rather annoyed with Adam and the Them. Most of those parts I skipped, if I thought I was able to.

Like I stated before, the beginning was an easy read. When it got to a certain part (I think it was when there were only 100 or so pages left), I was unable to read it anymore. I put it down for a few months, then decided one day that I should return the book back to the friend who so nicely let me borrow it. I forced myself to read the rest, skipping as much as I possibly could. I was unable to get into it again.

I still have not returned the book, and I finished it over a month ago.

Anyway, I, too, found Agnes's predictions to be hard to read, but I did have fun trying to decipher them on my own. I think I got maybe one or two completely right.

Overall, I found the book to be Monty Python-ish and would gladly read any other book written by Neil Gaiman and/or Terry Pratchett, if only to see if they held the same humor, but possibly kept my attention just a little bit longer.

10:52 p.m. - 2003-09-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Laughing Erin

I agree with Ellen and Naridu, it was just plain funny. That aside it got difficult at times to remember who all the people were. I had to refer to the list of people a lot of times but thatt really wasn't much of a problem. It was just annoying at times. Reading Agnes' predictions was hard though, glad that Anathema's famliy translated them.

I also liked the fact that Crowley and Aziraphale weren't complete opposites of each other. Nice to see that it showed Aziraphale and Crowly (the angel and the demon) in a very human light because everyone has the capacity for both good and evil, not just one or the other. That made it easier for me to imagine them.

I loved Adam and the Them. Reminded me of my friends and I when we were that age.

7:44 p.m. - 2003-09-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ellen, who is just beginning to realize that she's in 10th grade now

Wow. Second day of school, and I just spent 4 and a half hours doing homework. And I still have a book to re-read tonight. I forget things so quickly after reading a book once. Like this one - I read it awhile ago, so I'm having trouble remembering details.

Anyway. I'm not a Terry Pratchet fan. I've only read one other book of his, title unknown, and I found it abstract and weird. This too was absract and weird, but I agree with Naridu that it was funny. Not in a laugh-out-loud way, but in an how-weird-I'm-amused way. Though I did have to read that whole bit about the babies being switched about three times before I realized there were three babies...

It's such a different take on something so religious and serious. I liked that. And I liked how - oh god, names have run out of my head - the angel and demon weren't complete extremes. It wasn't all "this is good and this is evil." I suppose that was the point of the book, though, to show you that relgion isn't just white and black and good and bad. And amuse you at the same time.

It wasn't my favorite book by far, but for science fiction so abstract and weird, I actually enjoyed it.

When are the biographies going to be put up?!

7:30 p.m. - 2003-09-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

giggling naridu

Chuckle.....snigger.....cackle......snorf!

Heaven and hell, angels and anti-christ, who'd have though it could be so darn amusing?

more later

8:09 a.m. - 2003-09-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

naridu
caitlinaiken
xkimix
ejsaturn615
cinderellen
lealoo
wowgilly
selly-2002
caerydd
indie-fairy
why-i-love
prettykay
equivocally
allie-may
calmb4storm
non-descript
scifimagpie
mcdurks
bianca7
nimiiwin
forestdream
redshoegirl
molzo
star-grrrl
threewishes
iwillsurvive
bender87
anibananie
usmcsis
dutchorigins